2008 Events
Trail Sites
Trail Blazers
Check back often. New items will be added as they are scheduled!!
Contacts & Links

The trail's annual Trailblazer Awards Banquet and Ceremony honors the birthday of Wilbur Wright (April 16, 1867) and presents the Trailblazer Award to an individual or organization that has furthered aviation in the greater Miami Valley. Held annually since 1983.

1983 – Thomas H. Davis, Founder and Retired CEO, Piedmont Airlines
1984 – John C. Emery Jr. CEO, Emery Worldwide
1985 – Ervin and Zoe Dell Nutter, Elano Corporation
            James R. Wood, Director of Aviation, City of Dayton
1986 -  McCauley Division, Cessna Aircraft Company
1987 – 275th Air Base Wing, Wright Patterson Air Force Base
            George J. Wedekind, U. S. Air and Trade Show
1988 – Ivonette Wright Miller, Niece of Orville and Wilbur Wright
            Dr. J.H. Meyer, Surgeon and Aviation Pioneer
1989 – Wright “B” Flyer Inc., builders of the replica flying Wright “B”
            Floyd G. Koller, World Leader, Fuel Valve Engineering
1990 -  Hartzell Propeller Inc., Pioneers in Aviation Propellers and
            The Hartzell Family of Hartzell Industries Inc., Piqua, Ohio
1991 – John C. Dussault, Aviation Leader
            NCR Corporation, a Major Force in the Birthplace of Aviation
1992 – Hans Joachim Pabst Von Ohain, Ph.D. Co-inventor of the Jet Engine
             Chief Scientist, Aerospace Research Laboratories, WPAFB, and Senior
             Research Engineer, University of Dayton
1993 – Archives and Special Collections of the Paul Lawrence Dunbar Library,   
             Wright State University, Repository of the Wright Artifacts
1994 – The Hon. Tony P. Hall, U.S. House of Representatives,
            The Hon. David L. Hobson, U.S. House of Representatives,
1995 – The International Women’s Air and Space Museum, Preserver of the      
             History of Women in Aviation
1996 – Albert L. Nels, U.S. National and World Champion Balloonist
1997 – Neal V. Loving, Aeronautical Engineer, Racing Pilot, Author
1998 -  Carillon Historical Park, World-class Museum which houses the
             the 1905 Wright Flyer III
1999 – Waco Historical Society, Preserver and resorer of products of the WACO
             Aircraft Company
2000 -  G. Wilkinson “Wick” Wright, Enthusiastic supporter of Aviation
             organizations in the Miami Valley and Wright Family Spokesman
2001 -  Tom D. Crouch, Ph.D.,  Senior Curator Aeronautics, National Air and 
             Space Museum, The Smithsonian Institution, Author, Teacher, and
             Supporter of the Miami Valley’s Aviation Heritage.
2002 -   General Electric Aircraft Engines, Southwestern Ohio ptoducer of superior aircraft engines, their materials, fuels, and related technologies for 50-plus years and supporter of aviation in the greater Miami Valley.
2003- National Aviation Hall of Fame, a non profit organization that has enshrined to date 211 American and space pioneers whose contributions are interpreted in a Learning and Research Center
2004 - Blair Conrad, Director, Dayton International Airport, whose mangagement skills, aviation knowledge and safety concerns making it a heavily traveled airport.
2005- Howard R. DuFour, author of Charles E. Taylor, the Wright Brothers' Mechanician; originator of the 1903 Wright Flyer replica in the Wright State University Library; master machinist, model maker and honorary engineer who contributed to the Manhattan Project.
2006 - Nick Engler, founder of Wright Brothers Aeroplane Co., builder of reproductions of all Wright Brother's kites, gliders, and powered airplanes; kid focused via "rib workshops" for making the planes' parts; and extraordinary website on the Wright Brothers

2007 - Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park, during its 15-year presence in Dayton, this site has attracted national recognition. The park has been able to tell the aviation story through a number or partnerships in the community.

2008 - Mary Ann Johnson, aviation historian and author who has supported aviation-related projects in the Dayton-Miami Valley area for over 25  years.

2009 - Amanda Wright Lane, Wright Family Ambassador

2010 - Air Force Research Laboratory - leader in aerospace research and one of the largest R and D units in the Air Force

2011 - Steve Brown - architect and aviation enthusiast who has worked to make possible the parachute museum and is a key leader in aviation projects in the Miami Valley

2012 - Wilbur Wright Birthplace and Museum - Millville, Indiana.

2013 - Colonel Roger E. McClure (RET) - recognized for his early work on The Wright Cycle Company and the Hoover Block buildings and his efforts on the Dave Gold parachute collection.